My parents are incredibly service minded. My father is a doctor and my mother has spent the majority of her life trying to figure out new and different ways to help others. I’m all for service, but one of the biggest problems with having siblings who struggle with reading and having them be preoccupied all of the time with service means that sometimes they don’t see the pain that their own daughter is exhibiting. Sometimes they don’t notice that the air around me is toxic, destroying my lungs with every breath. They didn’t notice when I started cutting, and sometimes they just look over me. It’s not that they don’t care or pay attention to me, because they do. They are great people and incredible parents, but it’s easier sometimes for them to overlook the pain. I don’t know how to handle myself. My grades are slipping, teachers are harassing me, and honestly..I don’t care. They have yet to notice that as well..

Leave a Reply

